Previous State Climatologists

History of the Arizona State Climate Office

On March 20, 1973, Robert White, Weather Bureau Chief and first Administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), sent a letter to Governor Williams notifying him that NOAA was terminating the Federal State Climatology Program. Up to that point, a National Weather Service Climatologist performed the role. Paul C. Kangeiser of the National Weather Service Phoenix office was the last National Weather Service Climatologist for Arizona.

On April 6, 1973, Governor Williams sent a letter to President Schwada at ASU asking that the State Climatologist be housed at Arizona State University. President Schwada accepted this request on May 9, 1973. The Arizona Board of Regents approved the office in September, 1973. Governor Williams appointed Robert Durrenberger from ASU Department of Geography as the first Arizona State Climatologist on July 25, 1974.

As the Arizona State Climatologist, Dr. Erinanne Saffell holds a public office executive appointment by Governor Ducey, swearing a loyalty oath on July 22, 2021 to support the state of Arizona. She was confirmed by the Arizona Senate on April 5, 2022. The Arizona State Climate Office is the recognized State Climate Office for the State of Arizona (ARSCO) and is funded by Arizona State University and the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning.


Arizona State Climatologists

Dr. Erinanne Saffell, 2021-present

Dr. Nancy Selover, 2007-2021

Dr. Andrew Ellis, 2001-2007

Dr. Russell Vose, 1999-2001

Dr. Anthony Brazel, 1979-1999

Dr. Robert Durrenberger, 1974-1979